Tuesday, 9 September 2008

The $15 million Squad

The Stanford squad team has been announced (and the One Day series in India). And those lucky enough to be picked only now have the small task of winning the matches to each earn their $1,000,000 prize.

There are no major shock inclusions in the squad (no Graham Napier, which is a shame) and no surprising players left out (which means Sidebottom is in...).

The full squad:

Kevin Pietersen, James Anderson, Ian Bell, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Paul Collingwood, Alastair Cook, Andrew Flintoff, Stephen Harmison, Samit Patel, Matt Prior, Owais Shah, Graeme Swann, Ryan Sidebottom, Luke Wright.

Sticking with the same team from the South Africa series seems to be the sensible answer (why fix something that ain't broke?), but who will be able to handle the pressure when there is only 20 runs off the last over to win the cash? Could Harmison and Flintoff stop the Stanford team from hitting the winning runs off the final overs?

Nightwatchgirl will sit back and enjoy the games this October/November safe in the knowledge that this England squad have a better chance of winning than they did a year ago, than they did two months ago, and that money motivates all (which is a little bit sad, but unfortunately true).

No comments: